Tags

, , , , , ,

Hello Readers! Sorry I haven’t posted in a few days, my life hasn’t allowed me a moment of time to myself. On top of school, work, and blogging I write a few columns for my school newspaper every month and I am proud to announce that I am one of two students chosen to attend the NY TIMES Editor’s workshop next month! I am so excited to hone in on my writing style and skills plus meet student writers from all over the country. I will be sure to give full details afterwards. However, while I will be posting updated fashion finds this weekend, here is my musings column from FIT’s March/Money issue of W27 newspaper. Tell me what you think!

MassHysteriaWerx.com

No M-O-N-E-Y. Not Sexy.
BY SAMANTHA VANCE – MARCH 17, 2011
POSTED IN: FIT SPEAKS

Let’s talk about money. Okay, take deep breaths, my fashion kings and queens. I know you’re replaying all of the pleading conversations you’ve had with your parents that inevitably led to them saying, “but I just gave you money.” And of course you replied, “but…” followed by some excuse that you know isn’t justified, but you’re hoping your pitiful voice will persuade them anyway. The truth is, our parents are right. What the heck are we doing with all their generous donations?

Most of us here at FIT have a hopeless fashion, restaurant, or clubbing addiction (sometimes all three) that has fried our ability to be financially aware. We live on this idea that money will find its way into our bank accounts at some point so splurging “this one time” won’t hurt. Days later we snap out of it while digging through our purse for crumpled dollars and change at the Whole Foods checkout because our card was just declined. Ouch. Minutes later, you call your mom to let her know the bad news, and the cycle continues.

We all want to have fun and look amazing, but being careless isn’t cute. Staving off that phone call one week, or even a day, will make you feel more organized and proud, not to mention that it will do wonders for your parent’s wallet and stress level.

Everyone knows about thrifting and why it’s genius, but a lot of us don’t know about stores that buy clothes, or if we do know, we’re just too lazy to go through our closet and actually do it. It’s easy money, and what did you sacrifice? A crusty pair of shoes you haven’t worn in three years. I’d say that’s a deal. Stores, like Buffalo Exchange and Beacon’s Closet, are great because they give about 30-35% of your garment’s worth in cash if you choose or 55% store credit. There are great finds in both of those stores, and because it’s second hand it’s usually one of a kind, which is always fun to brag about.

Trying to plan a weekend with friends on a budget can be frustrating, but if you do it right you’ll end up having a blast without going broke. I like to check the Timeout New York website regularly because they are always advertising for awesome, inexpensive, or free events for the next day or weeks in advance. Check out their “This Week in New York” tab to get info on upcoming exhibits and silly events, like This Big Quiz Thing last week, where you could have won $200!!

Realizing you need to budget may feel like a death sentence, but it is so much easier than you think. Plus, in the long run you’ll be more prepared when your parents stop helping you (like in a few years when you graduate). Keep track of where you’re spending your money and curtail where you feel necessary. I don’t know how I spent $800 at CVS last fall but I know I it was the product of mindless spending that could have been avoided, or at least gone toward new shoes. Don’t forget the obvious things like checking for sales at your favorite stores and remember you’re never too good for coupons. Getting two soups for one will never go out of style.

Hope you liked it! I will definitely post future columns :] Promise to post my recent treasures and ensembles shortly! By the way, what are your favorite thrift stores? Check Now Now, by St. Vincent and an awesome new blog Fashion Skivvies!

