Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Well my stint being without gainful employment was fun while it lasted. Some days were full of wandering around NYC and others were full of mindless consumption of junk food, Gossip Girl and pity. But alas, the days are over. I have turned in my articles to TONY (One of which can be found HERE!), begun writing and editing for A Fresh Coat and most recently been hired at Kate Spade!

When thinking about a place I’d enjoy working during my senior year, realizing how much I missed fashion and the perks of working in a store where you get to style eager clients and ooh and ahh over gorgeous new collections, I kept coming back to Kate Spade. At first glance it’s a bit too colorful for me – I love autumn, neutrals and cozy colors – but the cuts and classic designs are very traditional and feminine plus that pop of color might just be what’s missing from my closet’s pale palette, I love that about Kate. So I’m super excited, especially since I’ll be there when the Fall collection comes in!! I can’t wait.

But here’s a recap of my 6 weeks on the bench.

Playing house at Ikea was bound to happen

ikea folknfables

Life on the Bench Folk & Fables

Life on the Bench Folk & FablesIncredibly ambitious furniture shopping at Find Home Furnishings

Life on the Bench Folk & Fables

Life on the Bench Folk & Fables

making up recipes…

I call it Blackberry Scone Pie! And it was damn good.

Life on the Bench Folk & Fables

Orange & Ginger Corn Flake Crusted Chicken

Life on the Bench Folk & Fables

complete with fancy (meaning I put out wine glasses) table setting

Did minor Home Improvement Projects

Adding photos to our wall

Life on the Bench Folk & Fables

Getting a new bedspread

Life on the Bench Folk & Fables

 Making a Savings Chart!                                                                                           The goal is really unclear. Partially a Disney Cruise, Aug rent and also a new computer… The number should read $1,000,000 but we just wanted to start small

Life on the Bench Folk & Fables

We haven’t gotten very far….

Life on the Bench Folk & Fables

Bounced around Fort Greene, BKLYN

Life on the Bench Folk & Fables

Gardel’s Greene Garden & then The General Greene for lunch

Life on the Bench Folk & Fables

Then a huge day of at home gardening!

Life on the Bench Folk & Fables

Life on the Bench Folk & Fables

Life on the Bench Folk & Fables

Little Ribbon labels so I know who’s who!

Life on the Bench Folk & Fables

Plus water and sunshine..

Life on the Bench Folk & Fables

Life on the Bench Folk & Fables

Life on the Bench Folk & Fables

Life on the Bench Folk & Fables

They all grew! No blooms yet but they’ll get there.

I’m so ready to start work but I’m really glad I got to be unemployed in NYC for a while. I know I will never get the chance to wake up and go to the Brooklyn Flea on Saturdays ,see Monday matinees, attend weekend craft fairs, or do absolutely nothing ever again.